Columns

Connect

Reflections of a mom
Apr 28 2016
What would I want for our two boys? The answer: That they know their gifts as blessings from God, work hard to cultivate these gifts and never use their gifts to put people down but to lift people up.

Why you should read C.S. Lewis’ “The Great Divorce”
Apr 28 2016
The inspiration for this theological fantasy is the medieval idea of the refrigerium, the refreshment or vacation from Hell granted to some of the souls abiding there.

Archbishop Lori's Homily: Fifth Sunday of Easter
Apr 25 2016
Our job is to keep on tearing down barriers … to open the door of faith to any and all who are willing to walk through it to find the life and love of Jesus.

Lullaby and Good Night
Apr 18 2016
In the busyness of our lives, as we balance school and work and meals and homework and play, some days fly by, while others creep slowly on.

Homily: The 4th Sunday of Easter
Apr 18 2016
Archbishop William E. Lori's homily from Aril 17. 2016 celebrating the 4th Sunday of Easter.

"Miracles from Heaven" and the Problem of Theodicy
Apr 15 2016
As any apologist worth his/her salt will tell you, the great objection to the proposition that God exists is the fact of innocent suffering.

Human beings, not doings
Apr 13 2016
It’s easy for most of us to simply take life for granted. We are. Life is. We often miss the miracle of simply being.

Amen: Forwarding the gift of life
Apr 11 2016
From finding a match to the final surgery, a look at organ donation from the perspective of family.

Homily: The 3rd Sunday of Easter
Apr 11 2016
Archbishop William E. Lori's homily from April 9-10, 2016 celebrating the 3rd Sunday of Easter.

First Thoughts on "Amoris Laetitia"
Apr 08 2016
Will Amoris Laetitia end all debate on these matters? Hardly. But it does indeed represent a deft and impressive balancing of the many and often contradictory interventions at the two Synods on the Family

Bill Nye is not the Philosophy Guy
Apr 05 2016
The physical sciences can reveal the chemical composition of ink and paper, but they cannot, even in principle, tell us anything about the meaning of Moby Dick or The Wasteland.

Our Back Pages: Catholic Review counts popes in its readership
Apr 04 2016
At least three popes or future popes have read the Catholic Review.

Focusing on the common good
Apr 04 2016
The common good is not the sum of all the individual goods, nor is it a utilitarian kind of greatest good for the greatest number of people.

Mary’s example in fighting terrorism
Apr 01 2016
Mary is a beautiful example of looking for Christ, even as others want us to bring life to a halt or make us fearful and suspicious of one another.