Archbishop William E. Lori

Archbishop William Edward Lori was installed as the 16th archbishop of Baltimore May 16, 2012 at the Cathedral of Mary Our Queen in Homeland. Archbishop Lori, who hails from Louisville, Ky., is the former head of the Diocese of Bridgeport, Conn. He was installed as the fourth bishop of the Bridgeport diocese in 2001. The new leader of the Premier See is acquainted with the Archdiocese of Baltimore, having earned a master’s degree from Mount St. Mary’s Seminary in Emmitsburg in 1977.

Commentary

Repent and believe
Mar 19 2015
Earlier this week, I was at the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Fatima in Portugal with the Knights of Columbus. I learned about the Fatima apparitions when I was a child.

Dying with dignity
Mar 05 2015
Recently I had the pleasure of visiting Stella Maris in Timonium. Operated by the devoted Sisters of Mercy, Stella Maris provides, among other things, hospice care for people who are terminally ill.

The goal, method and means of evangelization
Feb 19 2015
Last week, the Mid-Atlantic Congress took place in Baltimore. It provided an opportunity for clergy and laity serving in leadership positions in dioceses, primarily from the East Coast, to participate in various educational sessions.

Celebrating the gifts of consecrated life
Feb 05 2015
Women and men religious make incredible contributions to the Archdiocese of Baltimore.

Choosing life
Jan 22 2015
Hundreds of thousands of people were expected in Washington, D.C., this week for the annual March for Life.

2015: A big year for families
Jan 08 2015
Happy New Year! I pray this column, my first of 2015, finds you well, dear readers, and having enjoyed a happy and restful Christmas season.

The cure for the post-Christmas blues
Dec 18 2014
Many, by now, have put up the tree, decorated the house inside and out and purchased most of the gifts on their list.

Advent: the perfect spiritual wake-up call
Dec 04 2014
The Scriptures for the First Sunday of Advent contained two messages that could well serve as a guide for us.

Giving thanks for Cardinal Keeler
Nov 20 2014
I am proud to devote this year’s Thanksgiving column to my beloved predecessor and offer thanks for his many gifts on behalf of the church.

How to celebrate our 226th anniversary
Nov 05 2014
Last Sunday, about 2,000 people gathered at the Cathedral of Mary Our Queen in Homeland for the principal liturgy celebrating the 225th anniversary of the Archdiocese of Baltimore.

Celebrating on All Souls’ Day
Oct 30 2014
On its face, the feast of All Souls is a pretty somber day in the life of the church.