Father Joseph Breighner

Father Joseph Breighner

Father Joseph Breighner, a Catholic priest in the Archdiocese of Baltimore, is a popular lecturer and retreat master in the mid-Atlantic region. He formerly hosted a regular weekly radio show, "Country Road," that was syndicated throughout the country. He has been writing a column for The Catholic Review for decades. Father Breighner retired in 2013, but continues writing a monthly column for the Catholic Review magazine and additional columns that appear exclusively on this page of the Catholic Review website. Purchase Father Joe's books in our store.

Commentary

Father, should I take chemotherapy?
May 12 2016
At any time, facing any challenge in life, nurturing joy in our hearts is our best defense against diseases of the mind, body or spirit.

Surprises aplenty over 45 years
May 02 2016
A vocation is not about us telling God what we’re going to do for him. A vocation is being open to what God wants to work through us.

Human beings, not doings
Apr 13 2016
It’s easy for most of us to simply take life for granted. We are. Life is. We often miss the miracle of simply being.

Trying to understand suicide
Mar 30 2016
People don't commit suicide because they feel good. They commit suicide because they feel awful.

Saints for a day
Mar 14 2016
March is a month of hope. While it is still winter, spring is not far behind. While we’re in Lent for most of the month, there is Easter at the end.

Let's make attention to suicide a priority
Feb 16 2016
Life is changed not ended. God's love doesn't end. Neither does a mother's love.

God’s power exceeds our willpower
Feb 11 2016
God doesn’t measure us by our failure. God measures us by our efforts to pick ourselves up and do better. God is the God of second chances, the God of new resolutions, the God for whom each day is a new day, a first day for the rest of our lives

Blizzard shows us there is no such thing as the 'rugged individual'
Jan 26 2016
Being limited by snow reminds us of one fundamental issue. There is no such thing as the “rugged individual.”

God has become one with us, and we have become one with God
Jan 04 2016
Our job is not to make the world Christian. Our job is to so allow the God who lives in us to live through us.

Real prayers for peace
Dec 31 2015
In response to terrorist attacks, the completion of the season of Advent and the journey into the church Christmas season, and as we begin a New Year with new resolutions, I would like to share seven prayers.

Escaping death
Dec 10 2015
If we put our faith in Christ, then we will share the resurrection of Christ.

Waiting and watching
Nov 30 2015
In the month of December, the church waits in wonder and awe for the coming of its God. The world waits for the coming of Santa Claus. Both celebrations can be enjoyed as long as we keep God in first place.

A request for prayers
Jul 22 2013
One of the challenges of writing my Catholic Review column is that it is published every other week. Events that have yet transpired as I’m writing may have already happened by the time you read this column. As an old cartoon character used to say, “What a revoltin’ development!”

Good deeds for God
May 30 2013
Since I love to tell stories, I find that they have a way of finding their way to me. Recently my good friend, Monsignor Ed Miller, the wonderful pastor of St. Bernardine in West Baltimore, told me a couple of them. They are both about children.

Body of Christ lasts forever
May 17 2013
How do we know when we love ourselves? We were taught by Jesus to love our neighbors as ourselves. We were commanded to love ourselves as the measure of our love for others.