Guest Commentary

These opinion columns have been submitted to the Catholic Review from various guest columnists. 


Guest Commentary: What I learned on pilgrimage
Oct 02 2015
Father John J. "Jack" Lombardi reflects on the pilgrimage he led from Baltimore to Philadelphia to see Pope Francis.

Visit with Feet for Francis pilgrims releases flood of Baltimore memories
Sep 25 2015
Nothing stirs memories of Archdiocese of Baltimore Catholic schools like seeing archdiocesan pilgrims tromp past your home turf in Pennsylvania.

Yearning to see pope is a family tradition
Sep 18 2015
Deacon Miguel Sainz and his wife, Isabel, met St. John Paul II in October 1995, when the pope visited the Cathedral of Mary Our Queen in Homeland. (Special to the Review/Olivia Obineme)

The fragility of trust
Aug 26 2015
Broken trust is like a shattered coffee mug: You can glue the pieces back together, but it’s never going to look like it used to and may even leak.

Identifying with the saints
Aug 13 2015
I once surprised a Lutheran minister who was a good friend of mine when I said that I admired Dietrich Bonhoeffer, the Lutheran theologian martyred in Hitler’s Germany, so much that I sometimes prayed for his intercession.

Sloth will be the downfall of abortion
Aug 11 2015
Irony or ironies, it will be sloth – that crippling disease of the will – that will overturn abortion in our lifetime.

Ireland pilgrimage brings challenge and cheer
Aug 08 2015
Celtic Crossing. Irish Pilgrimage. Religious Freedom Pilgrimage 2015. All these phrases are appropriate to describe our recent June trip of 19 pilgrims to Ireland to walk 100 miles for religious freedom.

Father Eugene Hemrick Making something good out of depression
Aug 06 2015
Depression can happen to anyone. It can hit a woman after giving birth to a beautiful child or be caused by chronic pain. It can come from being bombarded continuously by bad news, losing a job, fear of aging or fear of dying.

When baby parts are worth more than the baby
Jul 30 2015
57.5 million children and counting who have died through legal abortion in the U.S. since 1973. The stain of a sin this big and this unchecked by society for more than 40 years cannot be fully grasped, much less examined.

In wake of gay marriage ruling, we chase holiness – in love
Jul 07 2015
Jesus made it easy. Love. Don’t judge. I love people with same-sex attraction. Every one of them – and not in some cheesy, Christian-y, weird-toothy-smiley-kind-of-way. But in a manner that invites him or her into my life, so that hopefully, we can become friends. But friends – good ones anyway – speak truth to one another.