Our Back Pages

Take a journey back into time!  "Our Back Pages" looks back at how the Catholic Review and the Catholic Mirror covered the many interesting moments in the long history of the Catholic Church in the Archdiocese of Baltimore.

Commentary

Our Back Pages: Exiled nuns from France found refuge in Baltimore
May 11 2016
A community of religious sisters whose ministry focused on continuously praying the rosary found refuge in Baltimore 113 years ago this month after being expelled from France in a clash between church and state.

Our Back Pages: Catholic Review counts popes in its readership
Apr 04 2016
At least three popes or future popes have read the Catholic Review.

Our Back Pages: Questions for a cardinal
Mar 11 2016
One questioner wondered whether communists might take advantage of the church’s new openness and infiltrate the clergy.

Our Back Pages: Touting marriage in the 1890s
Feb 11 2016
Unless a man and woman are willing to give up their individuality for one another in marriage, Father Rooker said, they have no right to marry

Our Back Pages: Unmasking the mysterious Xavier Rynne
Jan 11 2016
Redemptorist Father Francis X. Murphy, the mysterious Vatican insider who used the “Xavier Rynne” pseudonym to publish detailed reports about intrigue at the Second Vatican Council, acknowledged his true identity to readers of the Catholic Review 25 years ago.

Our Back Pages: Holy days, in war and peace
Dec 04 2015
Christmas held special meaning at the end of World War II for Baltimore Catholics.