Father Joseph Breighner

Father Joseph Breighner

Father Joseph Breighner, a Catholic priest in the Archdiocese of Baltimore, is a popular lecturer and retreat master in the mid-Atlantic region. He formerly hosted a regular weekly radio show, "Country Road," that was syndicated throughout the country. He has been writing a column for The Catholic Review for decades. Father Breighner retired in 2013, but continues writing a monthly column for the Catholic Review magazine and additional columns that appear exclusively on this page of the Catholic Review website. Purchase Father Joe's books in our store.

Commentary

Desperate times call for ... a colonoscopy
Jan 18 2013
I bet I did something for New Year’s Day that you didn’t do! I spent the day preparing for my colonoscopy. While you were drinking your bubbly – I was drinking my ugly! Don’t I know how to have fun?

Be for something
Jan 12 2013
By the time you read this column, the Christmas season will be mostly over. It officially ends, not with the Feast of the Epiphany, but with the Baptism of the Lord by John the Baptist. We see the babe in Bethlehem now grown to adulthood in Judea.

Love dissolves power of evil
Jan 04 2013
I felt honored to be quoted in the Radio Mass of Baltimore Newsletter. (You can tune in to the Mass each Sunday on WBAL – AM 1090 from 9:30 a.m. to10:00a.m.)

A reflection on time
Dec 28 2012
So the world didn’t end! If you’re reading my article, I bet you’re still alive. What can we learn from all of this? Well, we learn that we humans like to scare ourselves to death. I can’t remember a time when someone, somewhere, wasn’t predicting the end of the world!

The Christmas gift of a poem
Dec 21 2012
A humorist once commented that only Francis Scott Key knew all the verses to the Star Spangled Banner – Our National Anthem.

Like Mary, surrender to the Christ within
Dec 13 2012
Mary let go of her fears, worries, anxieties and doubts, and surrendered them to God. Can we do the same? I believe we can.

A survival kit for Christmas
Dec 06 2012
For years I would show up at various family gatherings with bags of presents. Today I mostly just bring love. It’s all we need, and what we are all looking for.

Paradox of John the Baptists at the polling place
Nov 29 2012
So what did Election Day and Advent have in common? For me, quite a bit. Let me tell my story as succinctly as possible.

Let go of worldly things
Nov 22 2012
Just when the caterpiller thought it was the end, it turned into a butterfly. Or, as Hazel Norwell Ailor put it: “The longing for a warm cocoon recedes as new worlds beckon eager butterflies.”

Peace comes even in the midst of storms
Nov 15 2012
I’m writing this column in October, the day before the prediction of the big storm.

Change the world one heart at a time
Nov 08 2012
I was actually changing channels to catch some football games, when I landed on a station that was doing an in-depth report on human trafficking. To put it mildly, I was shocked and stunned by the show.

Let the light of Christ shine through you
Nov 01 2012
A young boy was once asked what a saint was. The only saints he had ever seen were the saints in the stained glass windows in Church. So he replied very simply: “A saint is someone who lets the light shine through!”

It all happens in the parish
Oct 25 2012
Sometimes we have answers to questions that no one asks. As you know from reading this column, I like to write and preach about the “big issues.” What’s the meaning of life? Where is God when bad things happen? What happens when we die?

Renewal with two weeks to live
Oct 18 2012
I may have told this story before. Some stories are worth repeating. Back in 1952, at age 42, Lester Levenson had two massive heart attacks.

Choose to be for life and for love
Oct 11 2012
Since abortion has been legalized in the United States since the Roe v. Wade Supreme Court decision, there have been approximately 53 million abortions performed in the U.S. and roughly 4 to 8 million adoptions.