Father Joseph Breighner

Father Joseph Breighner

Father Joseph Breighner, a Catholic priest in the Archdiocese of Baltimore, is a popular lecturer and retreat master in the mid-Atlantic region. He formerly hosted a regular weekly radio show, "Country Road," that was syndicated throughout the country. He has been writing a column for The Catholic Review for decades. Father Breighner retired in 2013, but continues writing a monthly column for the Catholic Review magazine and additional columns that appear exclusively on this page of the Catholic Review website. Purchase Father Joe's books in our store.

Commentary

Be gracious in receiving the love of others
Oct 04 2012
The other day I saw a little toddler walking across a field following her daddy. Her steps were cautious and unsteady. She seemed very tentative with each movement.

Enjoy Every Moment With God
Sep 28 2012
When we reach out to help and comfort and hold each other, it is God reaching out and helping and comforting and holding us. Nothing less than God can explain the existence of existence. And nothing less than love can explain why God would want any of us around.

Dare to love
Sep 21 2012
It was every parent’s worst nightmare. Their teenage daughter had attempted suicide, and now the doctors and specialists at the hospital were working hard to resuscitate the girl.

The illusion of football
Sep 14 2012
So what is your favorite distraction? Mine has mostly been sports. Over the years I’ve lived and died witht the Orioles, the then ‘Baltimore’ Colts, and now the Ravens.

The lessons of the trees
Sep 07 2012
Recently I walked past some tall pine trees on the property of Villa Assumpta – the motherhouse and retirement community for the School Sisters of Notre Dame. I had passed these trees literally hundreds of times on my way to celebrate Mass or do counseling.

Coincidence and God
Sep 04 2012
It was one of those mystical, magical moments. There was one of those “pop-up” storms at the counseling center in Ellicott City.

See God through the lens of love
Aug 23 2012
As I write this in early August, I’m reflecting on life and retreats.

War book is a 'work of love'
Aug 17 2012
The book "Hearts Away, Bombs Away," is a compilation of more than 1,500 letters Vince Gisriel Jr.'s parents exchanged during World War II.

Be a light in the darkness
Aug 09 2012
Father Breighner talks about overcoming evil with good.

With lost wallet, priest finds stronger faith
Aug 02 2012
Father Breighner talks about lessons learned with lost wallet.

15 tips to practice to enhance your happiness
Jul 27 2012
Father Breighner talks about the importance of smiling and offers tips for happiness.

Coffee and the gift of life
Jul 19 2012
Father Joseph Breighner reveals surprising results of a study on coffee drinkers.

God’s kingdom is all around us
Jul 12 2012
Father Breighner says if we look closely, we can see miracles all around us.

I believe in God
Jul 05 2012
Father Breighner talks about genes and the influences around us, but says God is the greatest influence.

Local author finds God’s presence
Jun 28 2012
I was fortunate enough to be given a copy of “I Never Really Left” by Jozef J. Goethals.